Good Bye

How many times in our lives do we have to say good-bye?
A parent? A child moving away? A neighbor who has passed?

I am saying “Good bye” to my ovaries.

After a year-long battle and search as to why I was not feeling well; doctor after doctor I pursued to help me find an answer.

WOW.
I found one.

I have a tumor.
On my right ovary.

I was not expecting this finding.
I thought I had an issue with my ongoing IBS.

After an x-ray of my abdomen.
I got the call.
“Sharon, they found an OPACITY in the right side of your pelvis”

The following Wednesday I was laid out on the table, legs spread, for a trans vaginal ultra sound.
I held my breath.

The radiologists came in and said….
By the way….he is a man….
“You have a tumor and you can wait three months and we can check it again to see if it has changed”

Ummmm….I don’t think so.
My very good friend, who also is my ob/gyn was with me said “No…this needs to come out”

I am numb.

I left the hospital and had the blood work drawn for the CANCER markers.
I am numb.
I take Bek and her friends to lunch.
I am numb

Good bye ovaries.
My ob/gyn believes it is best to take both of my ovaries.
I am numb.

My precious ovaries served me well.
I have four amazing children due to their production.

And now…I am barren.
Even though I am, due to natures cause,
I am barren now, due to medicine.

My heart feels like a lead weight.
I nurture.
I give life.

Good bye ovaries.
You have blessed me, well.

I am numb.

Leave a Reply

