Poison Remnants

Scarred and scared.
Broken and torn.

My heart is weak.
Crushed and worn.

I am your child.
A grown woman now formed.

Never was I beyond your scorn.

Words hit,strike,cripple and maim.
Desperately I longed to remain…
Your little girl.

To see you laugh, dance, and whirl.
Simply because I was your little girl

Years have passed.
Wounds have healed.
I never found your appeal.

You bragged,and boasted, head held high.
Behind closed doors I wanted to die.

Scarred and scared.
Broken and torn.

My heart is weak.
Crushed and worn.

I begged never to be like you.
Instilling fear and wrath,
so undue.

Here I sit.
A grown woman now formed.

Broken of heart.
Feeling your scorn.

Again.

Now…time is moving.
I am walking away.
A grown woman now formed.
I get to say.

STOP.

I am finished with fear and wrath undeserved.
This hurts me, yes, knowing you from birth.

I have to be brave, loving, powerful, and strong.
A grown woman now formed.
After so long.

2 thoughts on “Poison Remnants

  1. I’ve read November’s lull, My invitation yo you, and Poison remnants. They are all very good, from the heart, thought provoking pieces. You definitely have a talent and way with words. One can see that you pour your heart and soul into what you write with honesty, integrity and clarity throughout. Nice work and not easy for just anyone to do. I enjoyed all three pieces.

Leave a Reply

