My piece of Sanibel. My peace on Sanibel.

 

I am stripped naked.

I look at the pile of heavy clothes laying at my feet. A tear slips down my cheek. I exhale. I am so tired

As each piece of clothing comes off another layer of sadness comes off, as well.

My piece of Sanibel. My island paradise. I love this island for all she gives me. The sea, dolphins, warmth, healing for my weary soul, quiet, and rest.

I put one leg at a time in my bikini, fasten my top. Gathering a towel, sunblock and off I go on my piece of Sanibel to my peace on Sanibel.  The beach is beautiful.  Sea shells by the thousands. Dolphins play just beyond the break.  The sun is hot, the sky a periwinkle blue.

I take a deep breath. Tears slide down my face with joy.

I’ll leave the heavy clothes on the floor along with the tired, weary tear for now. I’ve peeled off my layers of exhaustion.

My piece of Sanibel. My peace on Sanibel.

 

2 thoughts on “My piece of Sanibel. My peace on Sanibel.

Leave a Reply

